What are The Six Pillars of Iman(Faith)

The pillars of Iman are those things that are believed in, in Islam. Iman means faith. There are six (6) pillars of faith. These pillars consist of:

Belief in Allah

Of course the first pillar is the belief in the All-Powerful, Most Beneficent. Believing in Allah, above all else is the first and most important. Its not only belief in Allah alone but in the way He is described through the Qu’ran and the Prophet Muhammad. This includes all 99 names, which I will discuss in a later publication.

Belief in His Angels

The second pillar of iman is the belief in Allah’s angels. The angels are messengers of Allah. They are not his children as some may think. They were created from light and were created, before human, for the purpose of worshipping Allah. They can also appear in the shape of a man if so ordered to do so. Some of the angels’ names, that we know of, are Jibra’il, Mika’il, Israfil, and Malik. They have many jobs such as guardians, gatekeepers, and Trumpeters.

Belief in His Messengers

The third pillar is the belief in Allah’s Messengers. I know of twenty-five (25) Prophets mentioned in the Qur’an. These Prophets are: Elishia, Job, David, Dhul-Kifl, Aron, Hud, Abraham, Enoch, Elias, Jesus, Isac, Ishmael, Lot, Moses, Noah, Salih, Shuaib, Solomon, Ezra, Jacob, John, Jonah, Joseph, Zachariya, Muhammad. It is said that there are numerous others leading up to 313. Muhammad is the last and final Prophet and there will be none after he. It is our duty as Muslims to send salaams(the Peace and Blessings of Allah) when mentioning the names of any of the Prophets.

Belief in His Books

The fourth pillar of iman is the belief in the books of Allah. Here it is the belief that at the time when these books were sent down they truly were a message from Allah. The only book left is the Qur’an in its entirety, because it is the last revelation Allah will send to us. There are four books known to man: The Torah sent with the Prophet Musa (Moses), the Psalms sent with the Prophet Dawud (David), the Gospel sent with Prophet Isa (Jesus) and the Qur’an sent with Prophet Muhammad. We as Muslims are to believe in all of these books and not just the Qur’an.

Belief in the Last Day

The fifth pillar of faith in the belief in the Last Day. This is the Day of accounting for all deeds; evil or good, big or small. In our lives we need to believe that all we do will have bearing on the Last Day. No one but Allah knows when this day will come, so it is up to us to live each day as if it was our last.

Belief in Al-Qadar (Pre-Ordainment)

The last pillar of iman is the belief in pre-ordainment. What this means is that everything in our lives is already written. It is our duty to know that whatever Allah wills will occur. Also He is the creator of everything including our deeds. Allah knows our past, present, and future. Our lives are set, but that does not mean that we strive any less toward perfection.

These pillars are the groundfloor of our faith as Muslims, considering the fact that the pillars of Islam are our foundation. Having the belief in all of this means that you understand Islam and in that understanding your faith is true.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: